Love What Is True, Verse 7

In the last 7 days, I have experienced one of the scariest moments of my life. My moms as rushed to emergency surgery after being in extreme amounts of pain for a few days and the pain finally becoming too much to bare. I have been spending my summer in Henderson, which is a little less than 1000 miles away from Lubbock, which is where my mom was. I knew the minute I picked up the phone something was wrong, I could hear the pain and tears in her voice as she explained to us what was going on. My uncle, a MD, got on the phone with her and explained to her, based on her description of the pain, that she needed to get to the ED right away, preferably through ambulance. She opted to drive herself and made it safely. It wasn’t but 4 hours after she arrived that they explained what was going on and that she was going to have to have emergency surgery, because what was wrong was deadly if they didn’t take care of it soon. At that point, I called a local friend who so lovingly and willingly got up (at 12 AM) and drive to the hospital to be with my mom, not just sit with her, but diligently pray over her and with her as she was waiting to go into the OR. Before my mom was even in the OR, we had booked my plane tickets to leave within in less than 5 hours, thank goodness. I woke up to text messages from my friend that told me that surgery went perfectly, no complications and my mom was on the floor in her own room, resting and recovering. Oh Praise Jesus, I was worshiping as I sat in my bedroom, thanking Jesus for taking such good care of my mom (as if I ever believed that he wouldn’t). 

How often do I read my Bible, go to church, etc. and yet when troubles come or scary moments arise, I become nervous or worried. Why? There are so many truths in scripture where Christ reminds us, that he is for us, that he’ll never leave us, and that we are not to worry because he is in control. Before I sat and calmed down, my heart was racing, I was worried about what was going on since eI couldn’t be there. Once I finally sat down and just went to God in prayer, the worry was gone and my heart became still as I sat in his presence and quoted scripture that I have memorized in the past, verses that remind me of truth. 

When I created this blog and was thinking of what to name it, I was perplexed. I prayed about it and talked with others and then I thought about what the verses I had memorized with my siesta sisters in 2013 and what those times meant for me and how they helped me. It was then I realized that what I was memorizing was truth from scripture, and it was there I created “Love What Is True”. As I memorize scripture and use it throughout the day, I wanted to love what I was memorizing, love scripture, love the truth it holds and love my savior who is true and love. Oh how I want to love his word and hide it in my heart. 

Amanda Porter. Lubbock, Texas. “If I’m sleepless at midnight, I spend the hours in grateful reflection. Because you’ve always stood up for me, I’m free to run and play. I hold on to you for dear life, and you hold me steady as a post.” – Psalm 63:6-8 (MSG) 

May this be true of me, my prayer as I begin to memorize the verse for July is that I would not let anything create worry or stress in my heart, but that I would cling to the truth of scripture and the love of my savior through anything that is thrown my way. 

Let’s here your verses sisters 🙂 

2 thoughts on “Love What Is True, Verse 7

  1. I’m so glad you’re mommy is well:) How scary! I will continue to pray. I was going with other verses, but I’m adopting yours, I needed to hear this today. Love you.

Leave a Reply

