Love What Is True, Verse 8

I am late posting this blog and it has a lot to do with my heart lately. This week was rough for me, I didn’t spend a single day in the word. I overslept every morning and told myself, “You’ll read your Bible before bed”, which was just and excuse, because that never happened.

Truth is, I am late posting this blog, because I was ashamed. I usually spend the last week before a new verse in prayer about what I have been reading in scripture, and what verse God really wanted me to be meditating on for the next month. Well, since I wasn’t reading my Bible, that didn’t happen…Until today. Today, I finally sat down with Jesus. I talked to him, spent time listening to him, and was able to just enjoy being in his presence.

The devil is so tempting, especially when we are on fire for God, especially when rising early to spend time in scripture isn’t a habit but something we want to do, something makes the day perfect, a way to rejuvenate and praise Jesus for all he’s given us. Well, that’s exactly what happened this week for me.

As I was spending time in the word, praying and meditating, I was moved by this verse.

Amanda Porter. Lubbock, Texas “Pay attention, come close now, listen carefully to my life-giving, life-nourishing words. I’m making a lasting covenant commitment with you,the same that I made with David: sure, solid, enduring love.” (Isaiah 55:3, MSG)

God wants to make a lasting commitment with me, you, us (sinners)..The same he made with David. The surety of the promises made rests solely on God’s faithfulness and does not depend at all on David or Israel’s obedience. Oh how gracious our God is. Despite my laziness and lack of desire to be in scripture, God still loves me and wants to bless me, his commitment is faithfulness to us even in our unfaithfulness. Even in the midst of our disappointment, our sin and shame, HE’S.STILL.THERE.

My prayer is that I wouldn’t forget how much I need to be in scripture, how it is how I learn more about God and draw closer to him. When the devil whispers lies in my ear, that I would rebuke him and cling to Jesus. That I would remember that scripture is life-giving and the words are life-nourshing.

Reality is, everyday isn’t going to be easy. Taking it day by day, remembering that his mercies are new EVERY.day helps. Remembering that time with him is time well spent.

One thought on “Love What Is True, Verse 8

  1. Shanna. Dalhart, tx.
    And whatever you do or say, do it as a representative of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks through him to God the Father. (‭Colossians‬ ‭3‬:‭17‬ NLT)

Leave a Reply

