Verse 3: Gluttony

Gluttony (n): excess in eating

Just 2 weeks ago I began “Financial Peace University” at my local church. As a single Christian woman with credit card debt as well as student loans, I wanted to find a way to better handle and understand my money. Dave Ramsey is known for sharing principles that helped him and his wife years ago become debt free. I am learning so much through this program, so much about myself and how I got to be where I am. What I learned today was this…

Hi, My name is Amanda and I have a food addiction. Yes, you read that right. What an odd conclusion to come to while taking a financial counseling class. What this class is teaching me is where my money goes. I learned tonight as I was creating a more detailed budget that a good majority of my money goes to food; both intentionally and unintentionally. Yes, I only budget so much toward eating out or groceries, but my limit is always exceeded. Yes, I meal plan, but I have the hardest time saying no. “Amanda, want to go out to eat?” “Yes, I would love to” (Gets home and throws away planned meal). I strongly believe that coming to this realization, saying it out loud, not keeping it in is the next step in taking control of not only my eating habits but my finances.

As I walk into the month of March, I want to constantly speak truth over my life as I journey toward no longer allowing food to be my master.

Amanda Porter. Kansas City, Missouri. “Their end is destruction, their god is their belly, and they glory in their shame, with minds set on earthly things. But our citizenship is in heaven, and from it we await a Savior, the Lord Jesus Christ.” -Phillippians 3:19-20 (ESV)

Alright ladies, you’re up. share your verses.

Leave a Reply

