Lent 2020: No Social Media Meets COVID-19

As humans, we all have different outlets that we use to truly express how we feel. And if you’re anything like me, you have multiple. I am extremely thankful for a supportive family (despite the many miles between us), my amazing KC framily, and many friends across the United States. With these groups, I have faced really difficult days and have the ability to continue to face really difficulty days. I have the opportunity to truly share my concerns, thoughts and cares with these people.

More importantly, I am so thankful for Jesus. Jesus never changes, he always stays the same. With the ever changing state of this world we live in, having a constant is so important for us humans. Jesus has walked extremely difficulty days with me, giving me the grace and courage to get through those days. Knowing that, I want to love and pursue Jesus daily with every ounce of my being. As a human, I often let other things (social media, relationships, idols) get in my way of Jesus (spending time with him in the Word, praying, loving people well).

Lent — A  season of reflection and preparation before the celebrations of Easter. 

Growing up as a Southern Baptist, I never celebrate Lent; we definitely celebrated Easter. My freshman year of college, my roommate celebrated Lent and truly taught me the value of reflecting before Easter. I agreed to participate in order to support her through these 40 days. I would be lying if I said the first year, I truly understood the value and importance of it. As the years passed, I became increasingly aware of why this is so important for me and my relationship with the Lord.

Fast Forward, February 2020: I made the decision to give up social media for lent. I am a millennial and spend a significant amount of time on social media; so much so that I would find myself on social media on the elevators, in the restroom, at work, at church, and when I was with friends. It  wasn’t healthy for me, so I decided I needed a break and this was the perfect opportunity for me. I also told myself that I would spend more time in the word to replace my social media addiction; I would love to tell you that’s the case, but it isn’t in all reality. I may not be on social media, but I am not reading my Bible as much as I had planned. 

Picture it, United States, March 2020… COVID-19 is taking over everyone’s conversations. It is all most humans are thinking about. No one can wrap their mind around the havoc that this virus is wreaking on the global world. Not having social media has been the biggest blessing for my mental health, but also slightly difficult. Why you ask? Well, social media (in it’s truest form) is meant to connect people to each other and although I am able to call/facetime/text people, social media is an added glimpse of how people are coping (even though at time sit can be dramatized).

Needless to say, COVID-19 meets social media-less Amanda… for the better. For the better. I would say my anxiety is decreased remarkably, because of my choice to remove myself from social media at this time.

Check on your single friends. Check on your friends who live alone.Check on the elderly. Check on those who are at greater risk. 

Yes, it’s scary. Yes, the unknown is terrifying. I honestly believe that by checking in with them, it helps with our own sanity.

Let’s love people well through this time.

 


Leave a comment